21 Pylons of the House of Osiris

2 posters

Go down

Osiris - 21 Pylons of the House of Osiris Empty 21 Pylons of the House of Osiris

Post by Heruset 09.10.16 12:11

In the Book of the Dead, reference is made to the Pylons of the House of Osiris.

Any idea what these are symbolizing?

So far as I am in reading, there lists 10, but there are 21 on websites (maybe in other texts or later in the Book of the Dead, but I haven't found them yet, and haven't gotten deep into the study of the text yet...)

I thought maybe the 22 paths of the sephiroth could be related to 21 pylons. This is a loose assumption. I haven't learned anything about these pylons. I am just starting out with this text.

"The Pylons of the House of Osiris: The following shall be said when one cometh to the FIRST PYLON. The Osiris the scribe Ani, whose word is truth, saith: "Lady of tremblings, high-walled, the sovereign lady, the lady of destruction, who uttereth the words which drive back the destroyers, who delivereth from destruction him that cometh." The name of her Doorkeeper is Neruit.

The following shall be said when one cometh to the SECOND PYLON. The Osiris the scribe Ani, whose word is truth, saith: "Lady of heaven, Mistress of the Two Lands, devourer by fire, Lady of mortals, who art infinitely greater than any human being." The name of her Doorkeeper is Mes-Ptah.
The following shall be said when one cometh to the THIRD PYLON. The Osiris the scribe Ani, whose word is truth, saith: "Lady of the Altar, the mighty lady to whom offerings are made, greatly beloved one of every god sailing up the river to Abydos." The name of her Doorkeeper is Sebqa.

The following shall be said when one cometh to the FOURTH PYLON. The Osiris the scribe Ani, whose word is truth, saith: "Prevailer with knives, Mistress of the Two Lands, destroyer of the enemies of the Still-Heart (Osiris), who decreeth the release of those who suffer through evil hap." The name of her Doorkeeper is Nekau.